Buenos Aires were crowned the 2014 World Club 7s champions at Twickenham on Sunday after beating Auckland 26-22 in the final.

Joaquin Paz sparked a second-half comeback as unbeaten Buenos Aires clinched the title while Auckland lost out at the final hurdle for the second year running.

Auckland were in the ascendancy after Mitch Karpik’s double but the Argentinians’ resolve throughout the weekend was also present in the final, with the deadly Paz crossing twice to secure victory.

In 2013, Buenos Aires had been beaten in the semi-final by ACT Brumbies – who denied Auckland in the final.

There was no less action to be enjoyed in the Plate final, as the much-improved Cardiff Blues crowned their weekend with a win over Blue Bulls, 28-12.

Seattle go back to America with silverware in tow after fending off Premiership Rugby 7s champions Gloucester 22-12 in the Shield final.

Kuban Krasnodar 20-19 Western Province

Buenos Aires 35-12 Kuban Krasnodar
Auckland 19-14 Western Province

Buenos Aires 7-5 Cardiff Blues
RC Enisei 12-19 Kuban Krasnodar
Auckland 36-5 New York
Western Province 22-12 Blue Bulls

Source: Planet Rugby has the latest Rugby Union news, fixtures and results. All major tournaments included from Aviva Premiership to Super Rugby.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.